Long break in training after Wehrlein defect, teammate fastest

The Formula E anniversary weekend has started: The Electric World Championship is holding a racing weekend in Berlin for the tenth time. Before qualifying and the race get serious tomorrow, Saturday, the eleven teams had the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the conditions on the track at the former Berlin-Tempelhof airport in the first training session. This underwent significant changes to the route compared to the previous year and now consists of 15 curves instead of the previous ten.

The best time was secured around two and a half minutes before the end by Porsche works driver Antonio Felix da Costa with a time of 1:02.289 minutes. The 2020 Formula E champion was 0.128 seconds ahead of ERT driver Sergio Sette Camara, who in turn had Stoffel Vandoorne (DS Penske) right behind him. Local hero Maximilian Günther and his Maserati DS teammate Jehan Daruvala completed the top five.

Pascal Wehrlein causes a long interruption

For Felix da Costa teammate Pascal Wehrlein’s start to his home race didn’t go as hoped. After just a few minutes, the 29-year-old lost momentum on the back straight and came to a standstill on the approach to turn 6. Wehrlein therefore had to end the training early. The incident triggered a red flag and caused a disruption of more than ten minutes. Since the training only lasts 30 minutes anyway, the race management extended the first Berlin session by ten minutes. Wehrlein escaped at least one penalty. After an investigation, he was acquitted of the charge that he had left his car too early, possibly worthy of punishment.

Mahindra works driver Edoardo Mortara escaped a penalty before training. After his serious accident at the Monaco ePrix, the safety cell was changed. The FIA ​​Technical Delegate stated that the safety cell previously used was irreparable. Because of this, the stewards decided not to impose a penalty.

Best Berlin substitute driver in first training tenth

There are some unfamiliar faces to see on the Formula E grid this weekend. Due to a scheduling conflict with the WEC in Spa-Francorchamps, four regular drivers will miss the Berlin ePrix. In addition, McLaren-Nissan driver Sam Bird is still missing after breaking his hand in Monaco training two weeks ago. The Briton will again be represented by compatriot Taylor Barnard. Bird is still on site in Berlin and watched the training with a bandaged hand from the spectator-less stands in Turn 12 on Friday.

Kelvin van der Linde (Abt-Cupra), Joel Eriksson and Paul Aron (both Envision-Jaguar) and Jordan King (Mahindra) step in for the WEC starters. The latter two will make their Formula E debut this weekend. The best-placed substitute driver in the first free practice session was Eriksson in P10.

The German team Abt-Cupra found himself at the back of the field in the home race in the first training session. Regular driver Lucas Di Grassi only secured 21st place, 1.167 seconds behind the best training time. Replacement driver van der Linde was able to reach 18th place at the start of his Formula E interlude. There was a moment of shock about a minute before the end when Jaguar driver Mitch Evans ran into the two Abt Cupra vehicles in turn 12. However, the pilots avoided a collision.

Formula E Berlin: The rest of the schedule

Before things get serious with the first qualifying on Saturday morning, Formula E will first contest the second training session at 8:00 a.m. German time. At 10:20 a.m. the drivers will fight for pole position in qualifying before the race begins at 3:04 p.m. DF1 broadcasts the Berlin ePrix live on free TV and on its own website. In Austria, ServusTV is only showing the first race in Tempelhof around an hour late as a re-live and, as usual, on ServusTV On in the live stream.

You can read all information about other broadcast options as well as live timings on the first day of the race in Berlin in this article:

Formula E Berlin 2024: Result 1st training

Pos. driver team Residue
1 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche 1:02,289
2 Sergio Sette Camara ERT +0.128
3 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske +0.188
4 Maximilian Günther Maserati DS +0.222
5 Jehan Daruvala Maserati DS +0.240
6 Nick Cassidy jaguar +0.249
7 Jean Eric Vergne DS Penske +0.293
8th Mitch Evans jaguar +0.402
9 Dan Ticktum ERT +0.402
10 Joel Eriksson Envision Jaguar +0.447
11 Oliver Rowland Nissan +0.452
12 Jake Dennis Andretti Porsche +0.515
13 Paul Aron Envision Jaguar +0.527
14 Edoardo Mortara Mahindra +0.663
15 Jake Hughes McLaren Nissan +0.729
16 Taylor Barnard McLaren Nissan +0.781
17 Norman Nato Andretti Porsche +0.791
18 Kelvin van der Linde Abbot Mahindra +0.968
19 Jordan King Mahindra +0.977
20 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan +1,121
21 Lucas Di Grassi Abbot Mahindra +1,167
22 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *