24h Nürburgring 2024: Starting list with 130 racing cars

At the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring 2024 (June 1st – 2nd), 130 racing cars will compete in different classes. This is based on the preliminary Starter list which the organizer ADAC-Nordrhein published on Monday of this week. Last year, 135 vehicles were named when the Frikadelli-Ferrari won. The record at the 24 Hours of Nürburgring remains at 210 cars in 2011.

There are 26 cars from eight manufacturers registered in the overall victorious class SP9 of GT3 racing cars – six fewer than last year in the Eifel classic. Defending champion Frikadelli Racing returns with its Ferrari 296 GT3 and takes on the competition from Audi, BMW, Mercedes-AMG, Porsche, Aston Martin and Lamborghini with a new driver line-up. With Glickenhaus (SP-X class for prototypes), one of the fan favorites is also returning to the Nürburgring-Nordschleife.

Porsche as favorite for the Nürburgring 24h race

Based on the results so far, Porsche is traveling to the 52nd edition of the Nürburgring 24h Race as favorite: Porsche 911 GT3 R have won all previous NLS races as well as the 24h Qualifiers. With six GT3 911s from the Falken, Manthey, Dinamic, Lionspeed and Renauer teams, the Zuffenhausen-based company, together with Mercedes-AMG, represents the largest contingent of all brands in the SP9 classification (Pro & Pro-Am).

The Affalterbach-based company is also fielding six Mercedes-AMG GT3s – in the 130th year of motorsport for the brand with the star. The experienced teams HRT/Bilstein and GetSpeed ​​each start with two AMG GT3s in the Pro classification, plus one Pro-Am GT3 each from Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport and HRT. It would be time for an overall victory again: The last Mercedes triumph in the 24-hour race at the Nürburgring dates back to 2016.

Audi and BMW with three cars each at the 24h Nürburgring

Audi customer teams – without factory support since this year – and BMW M Motorsport are each leading three GT3 cars into battle. Hopes are high for the brand with the four rings Scherer Sport PHX (formerly Phoenix Racing), which relies on the remaining Audi works drivers and top returnees such as Christopher Mies and Frederic Vervisch. A third Audi R8 LMS GT3 comes from Juta Racing and starts in the Pro-Am classification.

The competition from Munich relies on the 2020 Nürburgring winners, ROWE Racing, as well as the former DTM and current development team RMG. ROWE starts with seven BMW works drivers. Although some drivers such as Philipp Eng and Nick Yelloly are unable to attend due to a simultaneous IMSA race, the newcomers Raffaele Marciello and Robin Frijns will be wearing the BMW colors in the long-distance classic for the first time. The RMG team from Niederzissen drives with the former juniors and current works drivers Max Hesse and Dan Harper as well as Charles Weerts.

Ring exotics: Aston Martin and Lamborghini strong

Could be a surprise Walkenhorst Motorsport, which switched to Aston Martin after leaving BMW. For the 24h Nürburgring, the team from Melle has put together a very strong quartet for the SP9 Pro start with Nicki Thiim (still in the Abt-Lamborghini in 2023), David Pittard, Kuba Giermaziak and Christian Krognes. A total of four Aston Martin Vantage GT3 Evo2s from Walkenhorst, Prosport Racing and Four Motors are at the start.

After last year’s Ferrari success, Lamborghini is also hoping to take something worthwhile from the Eifel this time. Abt Sportsline is about to make its second start in the Ring with the Lamborghini Huracan GT3 and trusts the driver trio consisting of Kelvin van der Linde, Jordan Pepper and Marco Mapelli. The Nürburgring veterans from Konrad Motorsport are once again there with an older version of the GT3 Huracan and are starting in the Pro-Am classification.

Abt-Lamborghini at the 24h Nürburgring: Huracan with wings! (00:40 mins)

24h Nürburgring 2024: Starter list SP9 class (Pro/Pro-Am/SP-X)

No. team automobile driver
#1 Frikadelli Racing Ferrari 296 GT3 Laser/Keilwitz/Ludwig/Varrone
#3 Mercedes-AMG Team Bilstein (HRT) Mercedes AMG GT3 Beretta/Bird/J. Owega/Maini
#4 Mercedes-AMG Team Bilstein (HRT) Mercedes AMG GT3 Stolz/Götz/Juncadella/Maini
#5 Renauer and Renauer Gbr Porsche 911 GT3 R Renauer/Kolb/Olsen/Campbell
#6 HRT Advan Mercedes AMG GT3 Fetzer/Haupt/Aron/S. Owega
#7 Konrad Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Soufi/Kratz/Paul
#8th Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed Mercedes AMG GT3 Auer/Christodoulou/Ellis/Grenier
#11 Schnitzelalm Racing Mercedes AMG GT3 Marchewicz/Härtling/Heyer
#15 Scherer Sport PHX Audi R8 LMS GT3 Vervisch/Haase/Winkelhock/Feller
#16 Scherer Sport PHX Audi R8 LMS GT3 Stippler/Mies/Feller/Marshal
#17 PROsport Racing Aston Martin Vantage GT3 Böckmann/Bastian/Sasse
#24 Lionspeed GP Porsche 911 GT3 R Au/Niederhauser/Kolb/Dontje
#27 Red Bull Team Dept Lamborghini Huracan GT3 K. van der Linde/Mapelli/Pepper
#33 Falken Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R Andlauer/Bachler/Müller/Picariello
#34 Walkenhorst Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage GT3 Krognes/Giermaziak/Pittard/Thiim
#35 Walkenhorst Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage GT3 Hull/Mazatis/Assenheimer
#36 Walkenhorst Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage GT3 Walkenhorst/Aust/Bollrath/Buchardt
#44 Falken Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R Heinemann/Eriksson/Menzel/Ragginger
#54 Dynamic GT Porsche 911 GT3 R Holzer/Seefried/Buus/Service
#71 Juta Racing Audi R8 LMS GT3 Veremenko/Selv/Kaffer/Erhart
#72 BMW M Team RMG BMW M4 GT3 Harper/Hesse/Weerts
#98 Rowe Racing BMW M4 GT3 Marciello/Martin/Wittmann/Farfus
#99 Rowe Racing BMW M4 GT3 Frijns/S. van der Linde/D. Vanthoor/Farfus
#130 Mercedes-AMG Team GetSpeed Mercedes AMG GT3 Engel/Gounon/Schiller
#706 Glickenhaus SCG 004c Mutsch/Mailleux/Arnold/Ledogar
#911 Manhtey EMA Porsche 911 GT3 R L. Vanthoor/Preining/Estre/Güven

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *