Three 16-second time penalties for tire pressure at the MotoGP race at the Sachsenring

Tire pressure strikes again. Augusto Fernandez, Johann Zarco and Stefan Bradl are affected. Two other Honda riders benefit from this.

Tobias Mühlbauer

Tobias Mühlbauer

Formula 1 & Motorcycle Department

MotoGP and Formula 1, that’s my thing. I turned my passion into my job at MSM and have been there for you ever since when engines roar.MORE

Augusto Fernandez at the Sachsenring
Augusto Fernandez was one of three drivers penalized, Photo: LAT Images

Next MotoGP races and more time penalties for not reaching the minimum tire pressure. With Augusto Fernandez, Johann Zarco and Stefan Bradl, three drivers were given 16 seconds at the Sachsenring.

While Johan Zarco remains in 17th place with the penalty and Stefan Bradl drops from P18 to P20, the penalty has real consequences for GasGas driver Fernandez. He drops from 14th to 16th place and loses two World Championship points.

Luca Marini at the Sachsenring
Luca Marini was given the first point of the year, Photo: LAT Images

“I knew I was at my limit. When I got to Jack [Miller] passed by, he went [der Druck] down. But when he overtook me, he didn’t go back up. I was a bit lost,” the Spaniard had to admit. At least he took a better feeling from the German GP, ​​as he was no longer lagging far behind his KTM colleagues.

Two Honda drivers are the beneficiaries of the penalty against Fernandez. Takaaki Nakagami moves up to 14th place. But psychologically, 15th place is probably much more important for Luca Marini. The new Honda signing was the only regular driver who had not scored a single point. So now he has avoided the Salto Nullo.

© Motorsport Magazine


World Cup standings

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *